SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Technical Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/)
-   -   Replacing cylinder head - any suggestions? (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/replacing-cylinder-head-any-suggestions-12498/)

driven 08-28-2007 08:19 AM

Replacing cylinder head - any suggestions?

Putting a new front head on tomorrow and then reassembling the bike. Any common pitfalls I can avoid? I'm an above average mechanic but certainly not a factory trained tech. I've read the manual and all looks straightforward, but any tips or timesavers would be appreciated! I'm all set on cam timing, etc. More worried about missing something in the maze of hoses and vacuum lines! :shock:

cliby 08-28-2007 09:41 AM

pretty straight forward procedure once you get access to everything. Don't risk anything - plug all the holes into the lower engine (cam chain tunnels) no matter how careful you think you will be. Is the head all complete? valves, valve train or are you transferring everything over?

Speed_Demon 08-29-2007 02:03 PM

Just make sure to block any passages to the bottom end. Stuff gets dropped. Make sure to keep the shims in order and check the clearances. It's a good idea to change the valve stem seals.

All those things you probably already knew. It's a pretty easy install just make sure you plug the petcock vacuum line on the correct nipple and seat the carbs fully. Good luck.

Speed_Demon 08-29-2007 02:07 PM

Originally Posted by cliby (Post 127708)
Is the head all complete? valves, valve train or are you transferring everything over?

If you are swapping parts between heads you are surely going to be far out on the valve clearances. If so I suggest assembling the head outside of the bike and adjusting the valves before installation. It would be alot easier and you wouldn't run the risk of losing shims into the motor.

driven 08-30-2007 05:00 AM