SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Technical Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/)
-   -   Octane rating (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/octane-rating-10424/)

Shawn Torpey 01-28-2007 09:55 AM

Octane rating

Hi everbody! I'm new to the whole forum thing, but this page has some useful information about a great bike so I thought might want to be a part of it. Anyway I have a question about octane levels. The service manual says to use 86 octane or higher and I use premium gas and I swear it runs a little better, could be all in my head, but I think it runs a little better. Now back in my V8 tuning days before gas got so expensive I was told to run the lowest octane suggested by the manufacturer because the higher the octane the slower the fuel burns and this creates soot build up on the valves if the motor was not designed to run higher octane. Now this is something I heard not seen. My question is does this statement hold water with the superhawk, or should I use the gasoline that makes me feel better? Kind of an obscure question but I think to much!

EngineNoO9 01-28-2007 09:58 AM

the general consensus around here is 87 runs best for a stock motor. The higher the octane the less energy is available. It's GREAT for high compression motors cause it won't combust from the compression alone and damage your motor. Out motors are low compression and the premium gas doesn't offer any advantage to us. Some people I believe still run it for the tracks or what not. Kind've personal opinion basically

mikstr 01-28-2007 10:59 AM

High octane in VTR = added $$$$ and less hp, hardly a desirable investment....

granted it is not a VTR, but on dyno tests conducted on a 700 cc two-stroke snowmobile engine (Ski-Doo MXZ700, designed to run on 87 octane), switching to hi-test resulted in a 2 hp drop in output! Food for thought.

Randman 01-28-2007 01:12 PM