SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Technical Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/)
-   -   Manual CCT failure, lesson for others to learn (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/manual-cct-failure-lesson-others-learn-28983/)

98VTRrider 08-13-2012 10:56 AM

Manual CCT failure, lesson for others to learn

4 Attachment(s)
As embarrassing as it is, I figured I would share my experience so others could learn from my mistakes.

Earlier this year I did some work on my VTR, adjusted the valves, installed CBR1000rr forks. When doing the front cyl I had removed the front manual CCT to remove the cams.

I finished the job and it ran good, I started riding it as usual. About 200 miles after the job I was on the highway and started hearing the front cylinder getting noisy. FIRST MISTAKE - I should have pulled over right away on the highway and checked things over, called a friend for a ride and trailered the bike home for inspection.

Instead I continued riding, telling myself, "oh it's prob just an exhaust leak since I had the header off". When my exit came up, I pulled off the highway, and at the end of the exit ramp I pulled in the clutch to idle when I heard the tell tale CLACK CLACK BANG POP of the front cylinder grenading itself. The front Manual CCT had backed itself out, apparently I overlooked putting locktite on the shaft when I reinstalled it.

Here's what I found when I got it apart;

Attachment 24351

Attachment 24352

High comp pistons and high lift cams don't mix well with CCT failures.

Keep reading, things get worse.....

I ordered a replacement front head on ebay for $180 shipped, and got a new head gasket on the way.