SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Technical Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/)
-   -   Hey guys, Need your help w/ Front End "Clunk" (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/hey-guys-need-your-help-w-front-end-clunk-7273/)

L8RGYZ 06-29-2005 07:58 AM

Hey guys, Need your help w/ Front End "Clunk"

My Super Hawk has developed a distinct & audible "clunk" sound & feel when coming to a moderately hard stop. Started since I put tires on a couple weeks ago.
It occurs right before I stop. I can feel & hear it as the fork reaches the end of its compression stroke & then again immediately as it rebounds back. I can also reproduce it by sitting on the bike, applying the front brake & pushing down on the bars really hard.
Rotors & pads look fine. I cleaned the pistons in the calipers, but not sure if I pushed them out far enough to do any good (I'm no expert mechanic, y'know!)
Any help sorting this appreciated.
Thx,
Steve

Texassuperhawk 06-29-2005 12:17 PM

Re: Hey guys, Need your help w/ Front End "Clunk"

Sounds like loose head bearings.

jschmidt 06-29-2005 12:21 PM

Or (following the rule of "check the last thing you fixed, first" a loose caliper.

Sometimes you notice something that was there after you do a fix, so the headbearings are a good call too.

divingindaytona 06-29-2005 03:21 PM

check your recent instalation job then, the head bearings.

BeerHunter 06-29-2005 06:14 PM

Also it could be that the axle was not tightened properly, or a collar may be missing on either side of the axle.

Mithrandir 06-30-2005 12:01 AM