SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Technical Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/)
-   -   Gas everywhere (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/gas-everywhere-34006/)

drgreenthumb04 06-15-2016 03:51 PM

Gas everywhere

I am new to my 98 VTR, but am no 'fall down' when it comes to mechanics. I had my vtr set up by a pro shop that had all the gear to get my air/fuel right on and everything was fine for a few weeks. Then it started to run like crap at idle and low rpms, sputtering and such. I went out the other day and there was gas all over. My tank has all but emptied into the cylinder through my carb and leaked all over. Not sure whats going on here. Any help is appreciated.

CruxGNZ 06-15-2016 04:04 PM

Your petcock diaphram failed and also a float valve in your carb failed. DO NOT attempt to start your engine, because you could hydro-lock it.

You will need to get the gas out if the cylinder, do an oil change, repair your petcock, and fix your float valve.

Wolverine 06-15-2016 04:48 PM

^^^^^^^
http://www.idioms4you.com/img/angif-...n-the-head.gif

drgreenthumb04 06-15-2016 04:54 PM

Originally Posted by CruxGNZ (Post 396853)
Your petcock diaphram failed and also a float valve in your carb failed. DO NOT attempt to start your engine, because you could hydro-lock it.

You will need to get the gas out if the cylinder, do an oil change, repair your petcock, and fix your float valve.

Thanks for the help brother.

Wolverine 06-15-2016 06:05 PM

Dr.G
Your issue has happened before to other members here and Crux hit the nail on the head. I'm sure you have a mess to deal with. At least you know exactly where to look.

CruxGNZ 06-15-2016 06:44 PM

For the petcock diaphram, look to eBay.
1997 2005 Honda Superhawk VTR1000F VTR1000 K L Fuel Petcock Repair Kit 18 5015 | eBay

For the float valve, check out Partzilla. They usually have the cheapest prices.