SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Technical Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/)
-   -   Is it faulty rectifier? (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/faulty-rectifier-30047/)

Lukasz Kowalczyk 03-28-2013 09:24 AM

Is it faulty rectifier?

Hi.I am new to forum so pls be gentle with me if i am duplicating threads or something. thnx.
.I have a 2002 firestorm.My yellow beast gives me lots and lots of fun.
But today it just died on me.All electrics gone.So as i am new to vtr and big bikes so i only knew to check the fuses in that small compartment under the seat but i did not know about the one which seats on the side of the frame underneath the plastic.So basically i did not know what to do so i called AA breakdown recovery.The guy after half an hour of checks and stuff he managed to establish that the green wire on the rectifier terminal causes the fuse to blow(the main fuse).So to establish that we wasted about 6 fuses even with ignition off.We came to conclusion that if we cut the wire (the green being the ground) then i might be able to get home on the battery itself without charging.So i am at home and i tried to check again what was causing the problem as the AA guy said that probably i need to trace the green wire back all the way where its coming from as it may be shortcutting, but it is the negative-ground-so if it would be shortcutting it would do so even when not plugged in to the rectifier right?(for the record it was shortcutting-blowing the main fuse-only when the harness was connected to rectifier).so i connected it back up(as we did cut it to get me home) i started the bike up and it didnt blow...even now i went to start it up and it still works...so any idea what could be causing that?is it the rectifier?if so why it is working now?pls heeelp...i am stuck.

8541Hawk 03-28-2013 10:31 AM