SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Technical Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/)
-   -   different gauges (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/different-gauges-26467/)

uebergang 08-26-2011 03:22 AM

different gauges

G'day all, im new to superhawkforum (firestorm here in aus) and think you guys have a realy good thing going here.
Now the fun part....
i'm ressurrecting a yellow vtr1000f '99 into a naked bike and have a cbr954 gauge with out a wiring harness and need to know how to wire up it all up . i've looked at the wiring diagrams for both the vtr and 954 but from what i can see only 6 wires correspond in colour and use, but in saying that im not that electricaly minded so might be way out. have searched and read alot about this here and in google but nothing realy helps or is straight forward. so can anyone help out with:
(1) a pic of the back of a 954 gauge with original wiring harness to tell me what wire goes were
(2) how to wire the vtr gauge wires to the 954 gauge.
thanks

7moore7 08-26-2011 06:48 AM

The wiring diagrams should have more than just 6 that correspond in use... Honda does swap the colors around, and there may be a couple of different ones, but for the most part it should all plug in. There are only so many functions that the gauges do, and sometimes the wording on the diagrams is different, but with process of elimination you can probably figure out what goes where.

The cheapest way to wire the gauges in is to pull all of the little wires out of your VTR plugs on the gauge side. Then you can use these plugs and stick the CBR wires in them corresponding to the plugs in you wire harness side. This may take a little bit of time, as the fittings on the tips of the wires can get caught a little bit (you need to take a skinny object and pry the little foot off of the plastic in them off). Good luck!

lazn 08-26-2011 08:50 AM