SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Technical Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/)
-   -   99 SH died while riding with grinding noise, need suggestions (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/99-sh-died-while-riding-grinding-noise-need-suggestions-34549/)

SaucyDinosaur 06-01-2017 05:51 AM

99 SH died while riding with grinding noise, need suggestions

1 Attachment(s)
This weeked I was riding when all of the sudden the bike started to make a horrible grinding noise from the engine. After that the bike wouldn't start and only made that grinding noise. The next day it wouldn't do anything, I opened up the left crankcase but couldn't turn the flywheel at all. Last night I pulled the front spark plug and found it was completely shredded up.

Attachment 20953

I'm not too experienced in working on bikes, or engines at all really for that matter, however I want to make this bike a project in order to learn a lot more about the bike and in fixing it. I was wonder what some of the next logical steps might be and how to do them. Also I was wondering what would cause something like this? The bike was well kept up from what I know, it does have about 30k miles though. Any help would be very appreciated though thanks.

Wolverine 06-01-2017 06:06 AM

Welcome Saucy. Heck of a first post, sorry for your loss...

Looks like you'll be doing a lot of tear down. Pull the front cylinder head and report back, lol!

Is it too early to guess cct failure?

xeris 06-01-2017 06:41 AM

Originally Posted by Wolverine (Post 402467)
Welcome Saucy. Heck of a first post, sorry for your loss...

Looks like you'll be doing a lot of tear down. Pull the front cylinder head and report back, lol!

Is it too early to guess cct failure?

No!

Welcome also, and yes, that is looking terrible for a first post.
Well if you really wanted to learn about wrenching you have a good project ahead of you.