SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Modifications - Performance (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/modifications-performance-29/)
-   -   Super Blink's Super Build Thread.... (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/modifications-performance-29/super-blinks-super-build-thread-24714/)

SuperBlink 02-11-2011 12:53 AM

Super Blink's Super Build Thread....

Alright guys, this is going to be an on going thread that in about a year and half or so will document my complete rebuild, from rear tire to front tire. The build will coincide with the courses that I'm taking in school and the projects will be based on what I'm learning in class so that I can make the most of my education. The really really cool thing is that once I'm done with my courses and would be hired at a dealership to be certified as a technician, I'll have an extremely SICK hawk to ride :D

That said I'm going to be documenting as many of the steps as possible for you guys with photographs. At this point I don't have a camera so that part is going to have to wait until I get my next check which will be in a couple days.

I'd like to invite any and everyone to give there input in terms of the parts and ultimate outcome of the bike. I do have a line of thought developing in terms of what I'm looking for. Right now my two classes are Intro to moto technology and Intro to general mait. The first class is mainly tools, safety and very general stuff like that. In the other class which is the more advanced of the two, the syllybus reads like this;

Carbs (circuits, cleaning, rebuilding,ect...)
EFI
Luubrication System
Cooling System
Wheels and Tires
Brake Operation, design, and system service
Unified braking system, linked system, anti-lock system
Frame design, steering geomtry, frame and suspension inspection and svc
Front Suspension
Rear Suspension
Exhaust Systems and emissions control
Presentations
Finish lab projects
Clean Up