SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Modifications - Performance (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/modifications-performance-29/)
-   -   racetech gold valves question (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/modifications-performance-29/racetech-gold-valves-question-23689/)

evines 09-03-2010 10:50 AM

racetech gold valves question

I'm about to start buying the racetech springs and gold valves for my winter project (or I might get somebody else to do it, not sure yet). But what gold valves do I need to buy?

From searching this forum, it seems like most get the Type 1 Gold Valve kit (FMGV S2040, 169.99 on the website). But at the top of the Racetech page for our bike, it says "Fork Comments: Rebound Gold Valve recommended." The rebound kit is FRGV S02, also 169.99 on the website. Should I get both? Or just one (and which one)? The price really starts to add up. 170+170+110 (springs) = 450 bucks.:mad:

I'm a suspension newbie, and was about to try a full front end swap, but after researching it on here, I'm getting scared away from that. Now I think I just want to go the Racetech route, and upgrade the m/c and calipers to f4i most likely. Thanks in advance.

P.S.- If it matters, I'm 175 lbs without gear, give or take a pizza. I mostly commute with the bike, but I do occasional track days and mountain rides.

Tweety 09-03-2010 11:07 AM

Um... To be quite honest, the level of complexity and difficulty of doing the RaceTech stuff is probably higher than swapping out the front, but that's your decision...

At your current weight even with a few added pizza's the stock rebound circuit is more than enough capable... I'd save those 170 bucks for pizza's instead... Or for upgrading the rear shock which at your weight is a bit stiff and harsh once you get the front dialed in...