Modifications - Performance Discuss aftermarket and DIY performance modifications

Carb tuning issues,and yes i've read all the stickys

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2014, 07:58 PM
Squid

99superchicken is on a distinguished road
Question Carb tuning issues,and yes i've read all the stickys

Ok first of ,howdy, im new here.I hail from from the great state of New hampshire USA lol.
Soo i recently bought my first Superhawk, a 99 model.Runs great, 32k miles..(yes,already ordered New CCT's). It has slip ones, PO said it wasnt jetted, so had some cruising sputter..from 3k-5k mostly.Tons of power on accelerating, just a bit bucky a sputtery cruising.Soo not knowing i have just a slip-on system, i ordered a stage on jet kit and installed it. Btw my air filter is stock and in good shape,And i HAVE dialed in the tps to 550 ohms.it was at 917 stock. I have a carb synch board as well. And i'm no newbie to complete teardowns and carb tuning. And everything in between.

So anyway.....I have tried 5 million setups and have gotten the damn thing to run 85% perfect. Here's my current setup based on things i've read and experimented with: Dynojet short slide springs, drilled slides per DJ recommendations. Stock main jets ( ive read that with slip ons, bike still will be fine past 7k rpms in the main jet circuit) shimmed the rear stock carb needle about 52 thousandths. the front needle is shimmed at about 40 thousandths. Running #48 pilot jets around 1.5 turns out..