SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Modifications - Performance (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/modifications-performance-29/)
-   -   lookin for ideas (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/modifications-performance-29/lookin-ideas-21420/)

offroad_rider2008 01-29-2010 01:31 PM

lookin for ideas

hey guys, i think im still a newbie here, but ive been reading an watchin wut all u guys have done to ur bikes and it seems these things are constantly changing, im still lookin forward to my maiden voyage besides across the yard a few times, its been rainin or snowin since i bought my bird, and still havent been dwn the road on her, but id like to get some ideas on what options i have for her.

lazn 01-29-2010 01:42 PM

What kind of things are you thinking of?

The bike is somewhat undersprung in stock form for most Americans.. 140lbs riders are ok, but us heavier guys look into suspension upgrade options fairly quick. (and there are lots of options when it comes to suspension)

There are also a lot of options for changing the look and sound of the bike..

Exhaust, jetting, etc are all good options. Some people mill the flywheel, raise compression etc. etc.

The stock air filter is generally considered not worth changing out, but I also know some people have good luck with K&N and BMC filters. Just realize you very likely will have to rejet if you do change it and don't expect power gains from them, just lifetime use.

8541Hawk 01-29-2010 01:43 PM

The first thing you need to do is get the suspension set up for your weight and riding style. After that, well the sky is the limit but unless you're around 160-170lbs the suspension must be addressed first IMHO.

lazn 01-29-2010 01:46 PM

Is it 160? Either way I am too fat for the stock setup. lol

zmaniv 01-29-2010 02:09 PM

Well if the weather sucks now why don't you do all the maintenance stuff first then replace the CCT's.