Modifications - Performance Discuss aftermarket and DIY performance modifications

jet questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2018, 09:06 PM
Squid

Thomas Gennaro Jeffers is on a distinguished road
jet questions

Hey all,
ive got a '98 that i just installed Danmoto gp slip on's on, like 2 days ago. Now, i have a Dynojet kit in the mail to arrive this monday. My local shop wants an obscene amount of money to install it, but since i'm an aircraft mechanic by trade, i figured the headache would be worth the pennies saved by doing it myself.

Now i have never worked with carbureted machines in the past, but i understand the general principle and have watched a couple videos of people tearing these things apart. And its my understanding (correct me if i'm wrong), unlike a lot of the 4cyl bikes, a jet is basically required with these bikes after exhaust work since they run so lean.
My questions are:

-Should i worry about getting a dyno run in before and after
-is installing the kit, as is, as-per Dynokit's instructions sufficient? or will i have to play with the pilot jet some more
-what general settings would you recommend for an aftermarket exhaust similar to the one linked above?
-are there any little nuances or tips for removing the carbs on these bikes (except the obvious)
-what is the general opinion of kits (like the one linked above) for these bikes.
-is modding the airbox and replacing the stock filter worthwhile while i have the tank and everything off?

For infos sake im located in south jersey and to the best of my knowledge the bike has been un-bastardized and bone stock before i installed the exhaust.
Old 03-03-2018, 11:17 PM
Superstock

CaryDG is on a distinguished road
Use the Search function and all your questions will be answered. Welcome to Super Hawk Land.
Old 03-04-2018, 08:21 AM
MotoGP

Wolverine is on a distinguished road
https://www.superhawkforum.com/forum...-set-up-24769/
Old 03-04-2018, 03:11 PM
Back Marker

Floyd is on a distinguished road