SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Members Rides (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/members-rides-35/)
-   -   New in town (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/members-rides-35/new-town-32321/)

I wanna go FAST! 07-12-2014 08:11 PM

New in town

3 Attachment(s)
Hi,

My name is Terry im 27yo guy from south florida. I just bought my first sport bike, a 1998 vtr1000 Firestorm with 20k miles on it. Here she is

Attachment 22573

Attachment 22574

Attachment 22575

I started riding about 6 months ago on a 95 honda magna vf750. I just bought the vtr1000 about a week ago an I'm looking to do some cosmetic modifications to it as soon as possible. I was thinking LED turn signals, HID headlight, some LED ground effect lighting, cell phone mount, I want to put some small speakers and an amp and hook my phone up and play music while i ride ;)

Get it looking sharp and then I would like to do some performance modifications. I dont know very much about bikes. I have asked around my friends and I have been told get some pipes and a power commander, other than that I have no clue so any input would be much appreciated!

Well, that's all I got! Thanks for reading!

erno 07-12-2014 08:24 PM

Welcome aboard mate,purchased the fastest color as well.
First mod I would do is the cct's (cam chain adjusters,go to manual ones),if they let go your up for a complete engine rebuild.The cct's aren't to dear around $100 mark + labour.
Then your regulator rectifier,they werent the best on the earlier models.
Forget about your power commander,the vtr's have carbies.
The guys over there will steer you on the right path.

cheers

Wolverine 07-12-2014 08:25 PM

Welcome to the forum Terry. Cool pics!

The power commander is for fuel injection, which the VTR does not have. Looks like you'll have to find someone to tune your carbs, or maybe not. A set of slip-ons won't require you to change them. Is it optimal, no but you might not notice a difference.