SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/general-discussion-30/)
-   -   Is superhawk reliable weekender? (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/general-discussion-30/superhawk-reliable-weekender-18468/)

TheDude 04-27-2009 01:16 PM

Is superhawk reliable weekender?

I'm new to the Superhawk forums and would like to ask overall are these bikes realiable? Do the take constant tinkering with the carbs and other such stuff? Are all the stock carbs CV and is this an issue if they are?

I ask because I'm trying to sell off my current ride ('06 Ninja 650R) to take the next step. I've ridden other larger sport twins and im in love with the power delivery. Top end not so important but more so the torque.

Is the Superhawk a true Honda in terms of reliability? What do you look for and stay away from? Any help or redirection would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!!

rbrais 04-27-2009 01:25 PM

They are as reliable as any bike. Things to watch for are the Voltage Regulators going bad (about a $75 replacement with a R6 or R1 unit. Do a search) and cam chain tensioners failing. No one knows when they may go, but most of us have been switching to manual cct's. I have 19k on mine and am about to order a set from Truckinduc. Those are the only 2 common things to go wrong.

mikstr 04-27-2009 01:25 PM

Pretty much a "set it and forget it" type of bike.

Circuit_Burner 04-27-2009 01:28 PM

Its a bike with real spirit. Doesnt have that cookie-cutter feel like a kawasaki.
Very reliable and very honda in quality.
Ive put over 50,000 miles on mine and only broke the stock charging system.
It will feel like its roughly 6 times more powerful than your current ride, although its only twice the power. lol
If the valves are adjusted correctly, and the bike has more than 15,000 miles on it, valve adjustments arent very often.