SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/general-discussion-30/)
-   -   Strange problem need help (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/general-discussion-30/strange-problem-need-help-34462/)

2wheel 04-17-2017 09:09 AM

Strange problem need help

My bike dies randomly. I am just starting to learn how the electrical system works and am confused. The issue is that randomly the bike will sputter out and die. When I try and restart it there is no starter noise. Then if I wait a bit the starter will work and the bike will start but then sputter and die again. It didn't happen on my 20 minute ride yesterday but it did happen on my way to work today. It seems to only happen when warm. I was going to check my R/R but it says to check the diodes and I don't know where I can find those on the R/R. I do have a multi meter I just have issues with terminology and finding the right places to check. I'm so confused! Any help is greatly appreciated.

Wolverine 04-17-2017 07:04 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Are any of your instrument cluster lights/gauges showing any signs of problems when this happens?

R/R is a know issue. I'd be a good idea to pull off the tail and have a look at the wiring going into/coming out of. I've seen plenty of scorched looking plugs and wires, which is an easy tell tale sign.

This is where it's located.
Attachment 21260

Use your meter to test voltage while the bike is @ idle, then rev it up a bit, preferably after it has warmed up a bit. You shouldn't exceed about 14.5v. Tell us what you get...

2wheel 04-17-2017 11:16 PM