SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/general-discussion-30/)
-   -   Presenting.... ye broken crank (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/general-discussion-30/presenting-ye-broken-crank-33232/)

mikstr 05-30-2015 08:34 AM

Presenting.... ye broken crank

3 Attachment(s)
Attachment 22013
Attachment 22014
Attachment 22015

scottiemann 05-30-2015 08:36 AM

Holy smokes batman!!!!

CruxGNZ 05-30-2015 10:17 AM

I'm no metallurgical scientist officer guy, but, well, there's your problem!

Wow, really cool looking. Sorry it happened to you Micky.

Just look at how that came apart. Did half snap cleanly and the other half rip apart?

mikstr 05-30-2015 10:26 AM

I just noticed the small hairline fracture on the counterweight side of the journal.... wonder if that's where it began?

mikstr 05-30-2015 10:48 AM

Originally Posted by CruxGNZ (Post 386741)
Just look at how that came apart. Did half snap cleanly and the other half rip apart?

couldn't tell you, I wasn't in the engine when it happened, lol

CruxGNZ 05-30-2015 12:08 PM

A metal fatigue analyst might enlighten us to what could've happened. Do we, ah, possibly have one of those guys on this forum? Might be a long shot.

NZSpokes 05-30-2015 12:32 PM

It will buff out sweet as.....

CrankenFine 05-30-2015 01:16 PM

Is it worth contacting Honda to see if they would be willing to analyze it.

thetophatflash 05-30-2015 01:41 PM

Looks like, according to the beach marks, it held together better than half way through.

xeris 05-30-2015 02:55 PM

Originally Posted by CrankenFine (Post 386750)
Is it worth contacting Honda to see if they would be willing to analyze it.

That would be nice, but I think I can hear laughter all the way from Japan.

Wolverine 05-30-2015 08:24 PM

JBWeld gentlemen, it works every time. :)

thedeatons 05-30-2015 08:39 PM

Maybe show it to Roger Ditchfield. He may have some contacts who can help.

James