General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

New owner Newer to the forum

Old 11-22-2018, 01:23 PM
Squid

Freimark is on a distinguished road
New owner Newer to the forum

Just picked up a 2003 Superhawk from the Dealership I work for. Got it for $500 and it has been sitting in our inventory for 3 years. It has just over 10,000 miles on it. It has a cracked oil pan so I picked up a used one for $35 that I'll be putting on. The bike has been down a couple times so I'll be repairing and refinishing the fairings. (I was a collision tech before I became a service writer.) The engine covers are scratched so I'll pull them off and have them powder coated. Figured I could try to make the bike a little more modern looking. Needless to say, the carbs need cleaned and rebuilt. Figured while they are off I'll jet them for the Yosh slip ons. Anything else I should do while the carbs are out of the way? Air box mods, breather mods, coolant mods etc. Links would be very much appreciated.

Thank you very much in advance.
Old 11-22-2018, 02:51 PM
Administrator
MotoGP

E.Marquez is on a distinguished road
Other stuff

Research the failure prone RR

consider swapping with a fH020 MOSFET and associated items

https://www.superhawkforum.com/forum...30-00-a-34792/

reserach cam chain tensions and consider manual ones

research light weight flywheel
and consider replacement
https://www.superhawkforum.com/forum...lywheel-35131/

Clutch master and slave drain, disassembly, clean fit new seals, braided steel lines

same with brakes

service suspension, ride it
notice its undersprung and then research options

chat with Jaime at DMr Performance Suspension ? Performance Motorcycle Suspension and Chassis
Old 11-22-2018, 05:11 PM
Squid

Thank you for the very helpful info. Once other question? Can I delete the carb heaters? Rather not have one extra thing to leak and I live on the central coast if California so cold isn't really a problem.
Old 11-23-2018, 05:28 AM
Back Marker