SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/general-discussion-30/)
-   -   Kids and bikes (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/general-discussion-30/kids-bikes-11028/)

drew_c14 04-06-2007 02:05 PM

Kids and bikes

I have a one year old son and my wife and I are arguing over what age to start him on a motorcycle. I'm thinking 4, she is thinking 21. I started riding when I was 12, but I'm thinking I could have started sooner.

I'm sure I'm not the only person to have thought about this. What does everybody think is the right age and why?

Zedicus 04-06-2007 02:21 PM

i started out on ATV's at about 8. its good becuz then u can learn to shift and stuff with out worrying to much about leaning or falling over. first dirtbike i rode was in my early teans. got my firt motorcycle at at 15 and had it figured out no problem... my fiance who is about 3 months into our pregnancy and weve decided that that is a similar aproach to how we will start our kid into the wide world of other forms of transportation.

if u just wanna get them right into 2 wheels get them a SMALL (like 50cc) dirtbike and let them tool around the back yard on it a little bit after they learn how to ride a bycicle with no training wheels. then motorcycling and stuff will be second nature... lus they will hav a major advantage when it comes to learning to drive a car.

being on a dirtbike or ATV teaches a lot of how to look around and watch out for other. also it can help some what with understanding how and when to shift if they ever hav a manual car.

firestorm'n 04-06-2007 02:54 PM

I don't have any kids, well a step son,but we won't go there.
If I did I would get them into it as soon as they could safely ride.
I've heard any were from 2 to 5. Probable up to the wife tough.
Who knows you could have the next two wheel superstar sitting right there craping his pants.

sprhawk neil 04-06-2007 02:55 PM