SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Everything Else (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/everything-else-31/)
-   -   anyone on here have a ford truck with the 7.3L diesel? (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/everything-else-31/anyone-here-have-ford-truck-7-3l-diesel-31402/)

j shizzy wizzy 11-25-2013 10:24 AM

anyone on here have a ford truck with the 7.3L diesel?

I just bought a sweet ford 250 with the 7.3L! its awesome! it was well taken care of and has some mods. i just wanted to put a feeler out there to see if anyone has some experience with this engine. I'm new to diesel and might have some questions from time to time. ive been to other diesel specific forums but they all suck in comparison to our community here! as always thanks everyone!

E.Marquez 11-25-2013 10:40 AM

Had a 1999 F350 CC, LB 4x4 with a 7.3 that had 256,000 miles on it when sold..Have a 2003 (last year of the 7.3) with more then 163,000 miles on it now...

Most of those mikes towing a 36 ft Toy hauler that puts us at or over GVW when loaded for a trip.

One issue common to the 7.3 is cavitation in the cooling system... due to poor or neglected cooling system maintenance, flush and proper coolant use. the result is pin hole leaks in the cylinder ..mostly #8. If you have the motor scanned at a shop,, ask them to check for a contribution code..

Another common issue is glow plug relay failure.. cheap easy fix....and fuel bowl leak at the drain valve...

On our 2003... tranny flush new filter and fluid every 30k.. oil and filter every 5k unless it's easy hiway miles then take it to 7K. Cooling system flush and refil once every other year.

Only part failures have been 1 Alternator, 1 glow plug relay, one fuel filter drain o ring leak, shocks worn out at 60k

sailorjerry 11-25-2013 11:03 AM

Originally Posted by j shizzy wizzy (Post 365557)