Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

The bike, she wont start

Old 03-12-2012, 05:39 PM
Squid

YLTO-Superhawk is on a distinguished road
The bike, she wont start

So, picked up a Superhawk last fall before the weather got bad and was hoping to get some work done on it over the winter. That didnt happen.

Anyway, I charged the battery back up but she doesnt want to start. Just endless turning, with the occasional ever so slight cough of combustion.

When I unscrew the float bowl drain screws a LITTLE gas come out, but not much.

Im new to the idea of vacuum tubes and all that related to carburetors. (My other bike is a 79 CB 750).

Can anyone point me in the direction of some things I might try or look for? The bike ran at the end of the last fall, and started pretty easily.
Old 03-12-2012, 05:49 PM
Former Superchicken Owner
SuperBike

RWhisen is on a distinguished road
Search for PVLIR within threads and all shall be made clear to you.
Old 03-12-2012, 07:33 PM
Superstock

spladle160 is on a distinguished road
Check for PVLIR, make sure the petcock is turned on, make sure the tank isn't dirty and your lines aren't clogged and once you have it running and go for a ride come back and clean the carbs.
Old 03-12-2012, 08:16 PM
Squid

Hmmm, sure enough I had placed the tube for the back on the bottom. Having placed the tubes in all their proper places though I find I have a little bit of gas in the float on the front carb, but absolutely nothing draining out the float drain valve on the back carb. So.... plugged tube perhaps? Or something else before I tear into this thing.

Whats the SIMPLEST way to check the tube, and (roughly) how much disassembly is going to be required? Is there a part of the service manual that might be helpful?
Old 03-12-2012, 08:18 PM
Squid