RANT! Pissed off about something? Need to get it off your chest? Do it here.

Attention all people who order stuff online and all package delivery drivers(rant)

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2015, 08:06 PM
SuperBike

scottiemann is on a distinguished road
Attention all people who order stuff online and all package delivery drivers(rant)

A little background:

Some of you know I am a UPS delivery driver. I work in some major cities in Massachussets. I deliver around 180-220 stops a day and handle 250-350+ packages a day.

The rant:

Dont think for one second that if you call in a complaint, that it is not verified by the driver

So occasionally, maybe once every other week, a customer will call in and complain saying the driver didnt ring the doorbell and just left a notice "but I was home, can he(she) redeliver?". Now some houses you cant always hear the bell ring when you push the button and some you can. But people seem to think that they can call in a complaint to the center and the center is just going to make us go back... NOT TRUE!

When a complaint is called in like this the first thing the center will do is send a message to the driver relaying the complaint, and expecting details from the driver on that specific delivery attempt. Depending on the circumstances the center will ASK the driver if he could reattempt delivery. In the case where I used the doorbell and couldnt hear it go off inside the house, given that I am still in the area, I will give the customer the benefit of the doubt and redeliver. HOWEVER, if there are verifiable, blatant lies I WILL NOT!