Modifications - Cosmetic Discuss aftermarket and DIY cosmetic modifications

Plastics repair and paint

Old 04-20-2013, 10:22 PM
Superstock

KCCO is on a distinguished road
Plastics repair and paint

Hi all, I’m new to the SH community and just picked up a 99 SH with 55k mi, high I know but it’s what I could get/ afford. The guy before me used it as a commuter and moved to a dual sport for a more comfortable riding position.
Transferring from a 95 XR250L to a 85 KLR600, with a 01 CR250 for the dirt in the mix, I am new to the street bike world too. The bike is mechanically sound no CCT issues and a new upgraded r/r. With that being said I am open to all advice/feedback I can get. Two sergeant seats and a box of parts sweetened the deal.
The cosmetics left some to be desired…. Cracked fairing, and some body rash. Being the 18 y/o I am and having access to a full shop at school, couldn't leave well enough alone and went to fixing the plastics. The following is the pictures/ steps I've taken so far, with comments. As I got her.
Dent in tank
First of the bondo work
Final Bondo
Filling in the crack
Last of the plastic bumper repair, before blocking and drilling hole for mounting
Back side of mounting hole that was broken.

SuperHawk Forum - KCCO's Album: Repair and Paint

The only aftermarket parts I have for the bike so far are DB Dark Smoke, Targa Formula II cowling, and T-Rex sliders.

Thanks all! Any advise is welcome!

Last edited by KCCO; 04-27-2013 at 09:12 PM. Reason: Found out how to embed photos
Old 04-20-2013, 11:01 PM
Back Marker

Super Hawk Pro is on a distinguished road
Nice. I wish I had a bike at 18. Are you going back with the original yellow?
Old 04-20-2013, 11:16 PM
Superstock